Little Tibet –Part 2

by Will

Sonam, one of our new trainees, proved to be quite helpful today. She is a Tibetan woman in her twenties living in the settlement with her father and several other family members. She speaks both Tibetan and Nepalese. She and Catherine especially bonded up in Kaskikot, and we also gave her some treatment for a Torticollis condition she has had since she was young.

My recent conversations with her are filled with the longing of a younger generation. She was born in Nepal, and did not experience the Chinese Invasion of Tibet, and the following exile. Instead she hopes to move to America where she sees more opportunity. I have no idea how to deal with her requests to “sponsor” her moving or working over in the states. I am not an employer, and the process seems daunting, filled with uncertainty.

I tapped into Sonam’s translating skills today, our Day 2 at the Tibetan Settlement. Her presence at the work day’s beginning was especially supportive of my renewed excitement.  But the day really started the night before when Lissa and I agreed we had gotten too wrapped up in the Tibetan people’s history. We need to strengthen our knees in preparation for our sessions today.

As I sat down with my first client, wouldn’t you know they spoke of having bad knees. “Why should I be so surprised,” I said to myself. So I set about having a more solid Tibetan knee protocol and having Sonam help with getting more details from her.

My second and last client had … you guessed it, a painful right knee. She was someone who had a different feel to her. She was very inquisitive and had less emotionality in her legs. She was also quite funny.

The leg felt as though there was an old fracture starting beneath her knee cap and going down the shin. As I used bone techniques on her she could feel the bone shifting. She looked at my hands and her shin with some amazement. She would bring her hands up to her chest in the familiar prayer position, and was exclaiming in Tibetan. Sonam explained that she was wishing that I would have a long life. She repeatedly said her prayers to me whenever there was a wave of bone shifting, and there was even a moment where she winced a bit in reaction to the bone’s dancing.

I told her of my recent Astrology reading from a Hindu man up in Kaskikot. He told me I would live to 91 years, and I asked her if her blessings would maybe get me a few more years of life, say 95 years? Her chuckle was, a hearty one, and my sharing  this opened the air up for further conversations.

She had little memories of Tibet given that she was four years old when she left with her parents. Her memories of hiking out of the country were at best vague she said. As an adult she had been an active member of a Tibetan women’s organization, and had met the Dhali Lama three times in India.

At the session’s end she was quite pleased. She was able to lift her leg up instead of sliding it along the ground. She was quite giggly, and celebrated with us in the hospital’s waiting room. A picture of her is in the blog entry titled, Old Knees in Their Countries.

I secretly wished to go back to the Buddhist temple. Yesterday’s brief sitting there was quite nourishing. Today the pressure was to visit Sonam and her father. He gave me some prayer beads, and I tried their Butter Tea. It was quite nice until I added some barley flour to it, a Tibetan tradition. The flour really wigged me, and I ended up getting sick from it the next day. Not fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

